Clouds ≠ Rain

My big sister and I had done some serious laundry the night before but we couldn’t spread them on the clothesline to dry because it looked like it was going to rain. We figured the sky would have cleared up in the morning and we would be able to spread them. Morning came and unfortunately, the sky hadn’t cleared. I decided not to spread the laundry because I thought it might still rain.

My mum saw them while she was about to drive out and told me to go spread them. I told her about the clouds and she told me to spread them anyway. So I went ahead and spread them but left the more delicate pieces of clothing. I was so sure that it was going to rain and that my older sister was gonna get mad at me for spreading her clothes when I knew it was going to rain.

I got back from work later in the afternoon and looking out my room window, I realized that I needed to take the clothes off the line. Once I got in front of the clothesline, I remembered the mini battle that had taken place in my head earlier in the morning. To my surprise, it hadn’t rained and the clothes were dry and crisp.

I heard so clearly within my spirit – “that clouds are gathered doesn’t mean it’s going to rain.” This didn’t quite make sense to me at first, because I grew up with the notion that gathered clouds meant rain was about to fall. It took a while for me to accept it but I eventually understood what God was trying to say to me.

How many times do we see clouds (different things that are going wrong) in our lives and just assume that it’s going to rain (the entire situation will become terrible because everything that’s bad will go worse all at the same time). We expend time and energy making contingency plans for the rain just because we see clouds gathered. I am all for being prepared but sometimes we spend so much time prepping for what we think will happen that we forget to live in the moment.

We forget to consult with the Holy Spirit and keep on making plans. At some point in my life, I was the mistress of contingency plans – I would have a plan A, a plan B, and then a plan B for my plan B which I guess is really a plan C…lol! I am still working on it but my point is that we, based on our human knowledge and common sense tend to think we have it all figured out when we really don’t.

Sometimes, when clouds are gathered in our lives, it’s not time for us to run around preparing for the rain. It is time for us to pray away the clouds. It’s not time to begin to be afraid of the “rain” because God has not given us a spirit of fear (2 Timothy 1:7). It is time to act on your faith and believe that those clouds are going to clear up.

I was seriously not expecting any life lessons from my laundry but God does speak to us in unexpected ways. Do you, like I used to, assume clouds always mean rain? If yes, I guess it’s time for a shift in your thought process. Spend more time acting on your faith than on making contingency plans.

Remain blessed.

With love from Smithia!

2 thoughts on “Clouds ≠ Rain

Leave a Reply

