Finding Community

Communities of different sorts serve as support groups for their members. I think it is important as Christians to have a community of believers that we get support from. People who we’ll share our joys, sorrows and challenges; people who’ll speak positive things into our lives and hold us accountable for our actions. My community of believers consists of the people at my church, campus fellowship, and some amazing ladies in a Pinky Promise group. Members of these groups have poured into my life in ways that have been both unexpected and divine.

Throughout my freshman and sophomore years of college, the only community I had was my church family. They helped me to discover God more in profound ways and showered love on me. I was aware of the fellowship on my campus but I wasn’t ready to be a part of it. In high school, I was an active member of the campus fellowship and served on the leadership team in my last year – it was a truly amazing experience. However, upon getting to college, I felt like God was calling me to walk more with Him and work less for Him (the whole Mary & Martha shebang). Thus, I refrained from joining the campus fellowship – leadership comes naturally to me and I didn’t want to risk it. I am not in any way saying that developing personal intimacy with God and leadership are mutually exclusive – it just happened that way for me.

Last year, I felt a release to be a part of the fellowship on my campus and it has been great. I have met some pretty inspiring people and it feels great to be a part of what God’s doing on my campus. I also joined a Pinky Promise fellowship and I have found my closest friends in this group. We meet up on Friday nights (PARTYYYY!), worship together, share where we’re at in our walks with God and study scripture. It has been great and I’m looking forward to starting up again in the fall :).

People say that college is a great place to discover yourself and what exactly your goals are in life. I also think it’s a great place to discover God and develop an intimate relationship with Him. However, unless you are already grounded in God’s word, college can be a difficult place to discover God but it doesn’t have to be. That is where finding community becomes crucial and it is not impossible. Reaching out to people that you don’t know might seem daunting at first but I’m sure that you’ll be unprepared for the shower of love that you’ll receive.

I thought this was going to be a short one but apparently, I talk a lot (who knew?). Anyways, I would like to say a big thank you to all the people who make up my community of believers. I don’t think my journey would have been the same without you. Yasmin, Charity, Gabi, Joy, Sandra, Joan and Da’eja – you ladies rock, and I’m excited to see where God is taking you in the next season of your life.

Stay blessed and smile today!

With love from Smithia

Holding each other up

Leave a Reply

