I Don’t Know But…

There are so many verses of scripture that believers can recite off the tops of their heads. However, it can be difficult to effectively use scripture if one is lacking revelation of its true meaning. Other times, we are not lacking in understanding but we think that we have uncovered all the truth in a scripture. I believe that the Holy Spirit can give new insight concerning verses of scripture regardless of how long we’ve known them for.

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV) – For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

I recently received a new understanding of Jeremiah 29:11.  I have been reciting this verse of scripture since 4th grade and I always rush to the part where His plans are to prosper me, to give me a hope and a future. Last night, I was about to recite the verse as I usual but I got stopped at “I know”. It was like a light bulb went off in my head.  Over the course of this week, I was considering the situations surrounding me and the challenges I was facing; all I could think was “I don’t know if my future is going to be what I want it to be” or “I don’t know if this is going to work out”. The common phrase in those thoughts are “I don’t know”.

What this verse of scripture is saying so clearly is that “He knows”. I don’t know how things are going to work out but God knows, and that is all I need to know. I can’t tell what’s going to happen tomorrow, the day after or in the next eight years but He can. All I need to do is walk in obedience and trust Him every step of the way. So the next time you start thinking “I don’t know,” cut that thought short and think “He knows”.

Stay blessed and smile today.

With love from Smithia

T i d a l  R i s e

One thought on “I Don’t Know But…

Leave a Reply

