A Fleeting Thing

Someone once asked me why I don’t try harder to be a happy person. My response was that happiness is a fleeting thing (plus I like to think that I’m a happy person). Our happiness as humans, is largely dependent on the circumstances we’re in. For example, I am happy when I get an A on a test but I am not happy when I don’t do so hot. Simply put, you’re in for disappointment if you spend your life searching for happiness because you’ll find yourself on a roller coaster ride. So what then are we supposed to search for if not happiness? Joy. Plus, I know where you can find it.

Psalm 16:11(NKJV) – You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

We find joy in His presence. The amazing thing about joy is that it isn’t dependent on fact but on faith. You can be full of joy in spite of whatever it is you’re going through. You can be going through hell but the faith in you that all will be well keeps you joyful. If you ever find that you don’t have joy in your life, it is time to “enter into His presence” and lay hold of the joy that lies therein.

I say “enter into His presence” because some Christians think that we only have access to God’s presence when we are in church or some other gathering of believers but that isn’t true. We as Christians are the temple of the Holy Spirit (1 Cor 6:19) and carry God’s presence wherever we go. However,  we sometimes forget that we are carriers of His presence and need to remind our flesh that we are. This is where worship, prayer, studying the Bible or whatever “entering into His presence” looks like for you, comes in.

I’m not in anyway saying that happiness is bad. In fact, I would advise you to be a happy person but more than that, be full of joy. Joy is not a fleeting thing and it brings us strength (Neh 8:10). If you are not full of joy, you need to bring your flesh to an awareness of His presence.

Stay blessed and remain amazing.

With love from Smithia

Aloha

 

Leave a Reply

