Black Hole

First off, yes, I know what you are thinking. No, I did not forget that I have a blog. Anyways, most of my thoughts have been for me alone so you did not miss much in case you were wondering :). Still, my sincere and humble apologies for being MIA for so long.

images

Now, let’s talk about black holes.

A black hole is a geometrically defined region of space exhibiting such strong gravitational effects that nothing can escape from inside it. 

I got to a point a few months ago where the circumstances in which I found myself kept causing me to ask how I was expected to fight against the force of gravity in my black hole. By definition, it is impossible to fight against gravity in a black hole, so yes, I was wondering how I was going to make it out of a seemingly impossible situation.

I spent a lot of time with my forehead scrunched up, thinking about this question. And then I saw a quote: “Sometimes we are strong because being strong is our only option”. I laughed when I saw that. It was not a laugh of pessimism but the quote simply did not make sense to me. Being strong is never really the only option. You can choose to be strong or you can choose to be weak. You can choose to fight or you can choose to give up.  You can choose to believe for better or you can choose to settle for nonsense.

Despite my disagreement with said quote, it was exactly what I needed to read. It made me realize that I could choose. I COULD CHOOSE. And so I chose. I chose to hold my head up high. I chose to flash a million dollar smile to anyone who bothered to ask how my day was going, and tell them that I was having a good day. I chose to be positive. I chose to see this as just another season of my life rather than seeing it as hitting rock bottom.

While this season of my life is certainly not over, I am now certain that I will make it through in one piece because I have been able to find strength from my choices. My heart is happy and I am no longer flashing a “fake it till you make it smile”. My smiles are more like “I am on the way to making it and I am enjoying the journey”. I am fighting against the force of gravity in a black hole and I am making progress. I refuse to believe that it is impossible for me to succeed in this fight.

So dear friend and reader, if you ever find yourself wondering how you are supposed to fight against the force of gravity in a black hole, remember that you have a choice and I sincerely hope that you will choose to fight.

download

Much love!

Smithia

Leave a Reply

